Posted by: JDM..... | February 5, 2013

Who are you……?

…..It’s not a rhetorical question…

Dear “Name Unavailable”…..

Although you may find it hard to believe, I really am not interested in anything you have to say.

Anybody of any importance in my life, from the most insignificant, such as the elderly gentleman who called the cops on me when I was fourteen for allegedly throwing a snowball at his house when I was on the other side of town, to the Surgeon who removed a dysfunctional portion of my large intestine, to my friends and neighbors, to my wife….each has sported the most valued of all human qualities:

a NAME

I remember the name of the kid who beat the crap out of me at recess in fourth grade. Heck, I even remember the word I called him to make that seem like a good idea to him.

I remember the names of all of my teachers from first grade through graduation from high school.

I remember the names of my first “girl friend”, the worst date I ever had, and the name of the Ten I never had the stones to ask.

I remember the name of the Drill Instructor who stuck his head down my throat and yelled into my stomach.

I remember the name of the man I bought my first car from.

I remember my first job, sweeping up and washing window at a local five and dime when I was fourteen, and I even remember the name of the store.

I remember the names of the best and worst bosses I ever had.

The list is quite long, and seems to get longer the more I look at it….the list of NAMES that have been a part of my life for almost sixty nine years, in both positive and not so positive ways.

So the question occurs to me, Name Unavailable,….why the hell would I answer my phone…. especially since I am currently engaged in some activity that actually INTERESTS me….why the hell would I want to listen to you talk to me…..?

You don’t even have a NAME!

Regards,

(I’ll show you mine if you show me yours)

 

~-~* * *~-~

 

Leave a Reply

Categories